Natalia Kills

Natalia Kills is a singer/songwriter from England with an affinity for axes and dark subject matter. The story behind her stage name is pretty awesome. We tell people that they “killed it” when they do a really good job at something and give their all. Natalia says that she is a perfectionist and always tries to kill it, so that’s why she picked the name. She also sings about killing her boyfriends, so it is a very fitting name.

Natalia describes her music as Dark Pop. I love it when music artists create their own genres! The sound is definitely Pop and you can sing along to it, but the lyrics are dark. Natalia sings about revenge, aggression, murder, and violence. Everyone’s favorite things. “Wonderland” is my favorite song by her. It basically debunks the perfect image of love and tears the fairy tale apart. She explores the dark side of love. Modern children’s fairy tales are rooted in some pretty dark  shit and I would love to hear this song in a Disney movie.

Natalia started out as an actress, so her music videos are like mini-films. The music and visuals combined are very dramatic and create suspense. I feel like I’m watching a horror movie when I view her videos. Whether she kills her boyfriend or gets beheaded, I can’t look away from them. Natalia is not afraid to push the boundaries of Pop music and I often find myself dancing to her music, even though it’s not party music.  The music is honest and brave, which is refreshing. I don’t want to hear about how much you love someone. I want to hear about how you’re going to get back at them when they fuck you over. Natalia isn’t afraid to take control and speak her mind.

BubbleGoth + Dark Pop = Epicness

Natalia’s musical influences include Depeche Mode, Alanis Morissette, and Kate Bush. I can definitely hear Depeche Mode in her music with the synthy, 80s dance sound. Alanis and Kate are both very honest, empowering singers and so is Natalia. I am also inspired by these same musicians because they make quality music. I must say Natalia has good taste. She is also friends with my favorite singer Kerli (pictured above), which is dope. Hopefully a collaboration between the two comes about. It would be epic.

If you like Pop music with an edge and you enjoy awesomely weird and disturbing visuals, then Natalia is your girl. Just don’t supply her with sharp objects, though.

Leave a Reply

