Facebook

Just the other day I was asked if I had a Facebook. It’s a valid question since that site is quite popular. I don’t have one. My answer always sets off a firestorm of comments. Really? Why not? That’s weird. You should get one! People are shocked by it. And they always want to know the reasoning behind my decision, as if it’s actually their business. I really don’t need to justify my decision, but since my friends, family, and co-workers seem so intrigued, I thought I would discuss why I don’t have a Facebook.

Reason #1: People I don’t like kept adding me.

When I had a Facebook, people who treated me like garbage in public school suddenly wanted to be “friends”. That was really odd to me. I’m a forgiving person, but not that fucking forgiving. Sure, I could have blocked people and kept my profile private, but I didn’t feel like doing that. Why should I have to pretend to like anyone? I will never forget the past. I no longer hold onto anger and pain from back then. I just don’t want to be exposed to certain people ever again. It’s not healthy and they don’t deserve to see what I’m currently up to. Accepting a friend request from a former bully would be like condoning their previous behavior. Sorry, that’s not happening. It makes me wonder if these people forgot what they did to me. Oh, you don’t remember calling me a fag? Maybe it wasn’t a big deal to you, but it hurt me. I never got an apology. You’re not welcome in my life. 🙂

Reason #2: Mixing work and play is never a good idea. 

We all play many different roles in our lives. We present ourselves in certain ways depending on what the situation is. At work you act differently than if you were at a club, for example. The two environments don’t fit together. I personally would not feel comfortable with my boss viewing pictures from my trip to the Goth club, particularly if I was dressed provocatively and inebriated. People have gotten fired over stuff their co-workers found on Facebook. There needs to be a division between certain areas of life. Not every person you know needs to know everything about you. That is just plain creepy…in a bad way.

Reason #3: I felt restricted.

I’m a very open and honest person. I wasn’t always that way, but I have found that it’s the best policy. I have a small circle of people who really know me and don’t judge who I am. If you have 200 friends on Facebook, then chances are you aren’t super close with all 200 of them. That would be extremely time-consuming. Why, then, would you post your entire life online for them all to see? It doesn’t make any sense. Yet, people do exactly that. Now, I’m into some weird stuff and I love that about myself. There’s nothing wrong with androgyny or spending time in cemeteries. However, I realize that not everyone I come in contact with will accept those things. I want to share the stuff I love with those close to me, but sometimes it’s better to just keep things to yourself. For instance, I don’t think my family would be too happy with my blog. I started it solely for myself, though. So, I’m certainly not going to filter my thoughts/interests/visuals/whatever else I post on here. When I had a public Facebook, I felt like I had to “normalize” myself and it sucked. Normal people are very scary. 😮

Reason #4: It’s addictive. 

I have an addictive personality. Who doesn’t? Many people get obsessed with Facebook and it starts to interfere with their daily lives. I have a feeling that would happen to me, so I’d rather just avoid it. I already have enough addictions as it is: shopping, prison documentaries, and black eyeliner, just to name a few. I was really into MySpace when that was the popular social networking site. lol Picking the perfect profile song was vital, at least to me. Now it’s time for a throwback photo, just because. I was 18 and a bit of a MySpace whore. Forgive me.

I actually kind of miss wearing bandanas in my hair. I thought it was cute. I might just have to bust some out again. 😉

2 thoughts on “Facebook

  1. I ended up joining Facebook just so as to improve my social skills. xD I thought it wouldn’t go well, but it has actually worked out quite well. 😀 I got to meet somebody who I’d have probably never seen again otherwise, which would’ve been a shame since she’s now one of my dearest friends.
    Then again, everything you said about Facebook is pretty much true. Once, somebody I hated tried to add me as a family member. (We weren’t even related!) And it is so, so addictive. But I didn’t have much of a life to begin with. xD

    • lol It is a good site to connect with people, especially when you don’t get to see them much in person.

      I swear people act crazy on there! Playing all these games and posting a million updates. Don’t worry, I don’t have a life either. 😛 It works!

Leave a Reply

