Motor City Pride

This past weekend I went to Motor City Pride in Detroit. I haven’t had so much fun in a long time.

It may (or may not) come as a surprise that I am gay. It’s not something that I talk about a lot simply because I think there are more interesting things to discuss. I feel compelled to bring it up after my trip to Pride, though. I’m proud to be gay and this weekend was a celebration of that. Love is love.

Motor City Pride began in Detroit as a gay and lesbian civil rights march in the 1980’s. It has grown a lot over the years and is now composed of many different events celebrating GLBT communities. There is a parade, family picnic, commitment ceremony, and tons of live music. It’s a two-day festival with plenty of things to do and see.

I went to Motor City Pride with my best friend Alexis for the first time this year and it definitely won’t be the last. We both wanted to meet a drag queen because they are the best. I really respect the art of drag and I would love to participate in a drag show at some point. I met a couple fierce queens. Work it!

A major reason I went to Pride this year was because my favorite singer and biggest life inspiration would be performing. I know I blog about Kerli ALL the time, but she is a huge part of my life. I can’t help it. 😛 Kerli’s performance was amazing and I even got to meet her! My life was made. I still can’t process what actually happened. 😀 BubbleGoth overload!

My friend Alexis and I also played with puppies and posed with random statues in front of the Detroit River. We’ve known each other almost our entire lives and I was so happy to share the experience with her. Thank you for standing by my side no matter what, Alexis. I love you. ❤

I also have to talk about my outfit and how popular it was among passersby. I wore my personalized Demonia 7 inch platform boots and I may have stood out a bit. haha So many people asked to take pictures with me and complimented me on my boots. I’m quite the attention whore, so I didn’t mind one bit. 😉 I have no idea how many pictures of me are floating around the web after this past weekend. Pretty rad.


I’m still smiling from the good times. It was wonderful to feel complete acceptance and love all around me. I met so many beautiful, inspiring people that I will never forget. Love wins. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Motor City Pride

  1. You rock!!! Glad you enjoyed pride!!! It is wonderful we have these events to go to, where we feel like we can be accepted and be ourselves!!! I haven’t been to Motor City Pride in a long time. BTW I use to do drag… LOL

    • Aw, you rock more! 😀 It really is great that society is becoming more accepting of differences and all forms of love. That is sooo cool that you used to do drag! Drag queens are wonderful people. You should go to Motor City Pride next year. I will definitely be back!

      And I think you should post some pics of when you did drag…just saying. 😉

  2. Oh my God Asylum you looked so cute in your BubbleGoth outfit. And those boots! haha, I’m very happy to have seen and read that you had a wonderful time. Your picture with Kerli is simply adorable. She truly is the mom of BubbleGoth.

    Tons of Love Bites,

    Izzy

    • Thanks Izzy! I wanted to incorporate rainbows and hearts for Pride, but I still needed the Goth component as well with the boots. You would not believe how sore my legs and feet were after wearing those boots all day. My legs are still sore and I went to Pride on Sunday! lol So worth it though…those boots are so much fun.

      Kerli looked like a Cybergoth Cheerleader and I spotted her from like a mile away with that outfit and hair. There were quite a few BubbleGoths at Pride and I of course had to stop and talk to them all. 😀 One girl had a gas-masked teddy bear backpack. It was epic!

      • ^,.,^ You’re welcome! Ouch, I bet. They were what, 7 inches? Plus, you did a lot of walking and standing I bet. haha, lol But most definitely worth it with those boots and the fun you had. Hug the gas-masked teddy bear!

  3. Awww that sounds like so much fun and I’m all second-hand excited that you got to meet Kerli! That is massive!!! Also, love your look and outfit – I have that Ke$ha shirt, too! 😛

    • I had such a blast. 😀 Kerli is so sweet and she talked and took pictures with all of her fans. I am still in shock over meeting her. Surreal!

      Thanks! Omg that’s awesome that you have the same shirt! Ke$ha is pretty rad and I have been known to get sleazy one or two times in my life. haha

  4. WOOHOO! Sounds amazing, AsylumAttendant! Nice boots. 😀 I know somebody who loves that sort of footwear.

Leave a Reply

