Lene Lovich

Yep, it’s about to get weird. I recently discovered New Wave singer Lene Lovich and fell in love instantly. How could anyone not love that face? lol

Lene was born in 1949 and raised in Detroit, but moved to England as a teenager due to family problems. She had a rough childhood and music comforted her. Lene started to use her voice to escape her reality and through practice she was able to hone it into something otherworldly. She also learned how to play the saxophone and it became her favorite instrument alongside her own voice.

Strangely enough, Lene got a record deal in 1978 with her version of the song “I Think We’re Alone Now”. Teen icon Tiffany re-made the song in the 80s and most people are familiar with her version, but the song actually dates back to the 60s. Song recycling at its finest!

Lene’s biggest hit was “Lucky Number” and some consider her a one-hit wonder. Her music is definitely Pop, but it’s quirky and odd, too. Lene was a part of the New Wave music scene of the late 1970s and early 1980s. New Wave was all about eccentricity, deep lyrics, and strange rhythms incorporating synths. And Lene’s voice is like no other. A lot of her songs contain vocal noises mixed with actual words. This is clear on Lene’s “Bird Song”. She literally sounds like a bird. I seriously want to learn how to make my voice sound like hers.

Along with her strange music, Lene’s appearance is also odd. Her signature long hair braids, head scarves, and striking eyes certainly grab your attention. Lene’s style was ahead of its time and pretty dark and mysterious. I don’t think she tries to be different, though. Lene is just naturally unique and everything about her seems very organic.

I can’t believe Lene isn’t more well-known. She’s one of the most original musicians I’ve ever come across and she has both mainstream and underground appeal. I know I would have absolutely adored her if I was alive at the time she was popular. It’s sad that talented musicians from the past fade away when they should be cherished and remembered in the present. A Lene Lovich revival is vital!

22 thoughts on “Lene Lovich

  1. WOAH, I LOVE HER!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for writing this. She reminds me of Klaus Nomi. (If you haven’t heard of him, check him out as soon as you can- you’ll love his stuff, methinks.)

    • lol I thought you might like Lene. ๐Ÿ˜‰ She’s a hidden gem with an incredible voice.

      Klaus is great! Thank you for steering me in his direction. I love his plastic tuxedo and his hair. So cute. His operatic voice is stunning as well. What a performer! His cover of Leslie Gore’s “You Don’t Own Me” makes me happy. ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s one of my favorite songs of all time and I love his version. Klaus was so far ahead of his time.

      • I only found out about him recently and I can’t get enough. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m definitely doing a post on him soon! ๐Ÿ˜›
        (Oh, by the way- Rasputina did a cover of that song too!)

  2. “New Toy” is my favorite song of hers. I loved the music video for it when they used to play it on MTV in the 80s. Yeah, I’m old.

      • Aw, yeah, MTV in the early 80s had videos by people who actually had interesting ideas for videos, like Ultravox for example (oh you really should check out “Passing Strangers” and “Vienna” if you haven’t seen them). Then after a time everyone thought they had to make a music video whether they had a good idea or not, and videos got boring.

      • Thanks for the suggestions! I love that their videos tell a story and make sense with the lyrics. The visuals add a whole other dimension to the songs. And I always adore videos that resemble mini films. Good stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. How lucky for you that you can discover Lene Lovich today and have five albums and and EP to dive into. For old timers it has been a thirty year slog waiting for the next album to appear like a postcard from another world! Only to have her disappear for another 8-12 years. At least she’s reaching new ears. All hail Lene Lovich and her exquisite style and music.

    • I could not handle waiting that long for new music from Lene. That must have been brutal! I am definitely spreading her music to everyone I know. I really canโ€™t believe more people donโ€™t know about her. My generationโ€™s taste in music is not too great. lol

      Thank you for the comment! I very much appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • One of my big regrets is that after trekking up to Atlanta from Orlando one weekend to see Pete Burns in 1992, the very next weekend there was a Lene Lovich concert. My friend who accompanied me to the Pete Burns show asked if I wanted to go. At the time I thought “driving eight hours to Atlanta two weekends in a row? – that’s too decadent for me!” Never mind that I was younger and wealthier then, with money to burn! So I didn’t go. My friend had no such neuroses! He went, and of course, there were no more Lene Lovich concerts to miss! By 1994 traveling to Atlanta twice in a single week for concerts was not only a good idea, but a common one, at that! -sigh-

      • I discovered Lene recently and I will never leave Planet Lovich.I love her compositions and “No Mans Land” not only takes me to her planet, but also her star! Please reply; there is none amongst me that know of or care to know her! (non-creative beings are suffocating me)!!!

      • Hi Gerard! I’m glad to hear you are a new fan of Lene. She’s definitely special. I’m 24 and no one my age knows who she is. I like to think of her as a treasure for those with an open mind. You must be an awesome person to have such great taste in music. What other artists do you listen to? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Its a great pity that more people have not heard of the unique Lene Lovich and all her fantastic music. I tell people all the time to have a listen. Forget all the years I missed out on her music,because now I have bought the lot, apart from ‘No mans Land Which I am still looking for. Lene Lovich is just special

    • I can’t believe it took me so long to come across her music. That’s awesome that you almost have her entire music collection. I don’t buy music from artists unless I really love them and connect with it, so I know I need to buy all of her albums. Lene is splendid!

      Thank you for commenting! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. I went a Lene Lovich gig on Fri. in Leeds U.K. she was great i cant believe its 34 years since i bought Lucky number 45rpm,anyway she is as weird and stand alone as ever,go see her if you can.

  6. Pingback: Top 13 (Musical) Strange Girls | manbehindthecurtain

  7. About 2 years ago ,I was going through my memory banks trying to find music from the past I liked, Then ” Lucky Number”by Lene Lovich came to mind, So I bought it at I-tunes, Then I thought I would listen to other songs had she done…and then ‘POW’..I was truly gripped and now I am in love. Telling lots of people about the unique Lene and her music is an ongoing saga and if you should come across this message, for Heaven’s sake have a listen, you will NOT be disappointed and you too will fall in love with Lene.

Leave a Reply

