Makeup Tutorial: Klaus Nomi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not very good with makeup. But, when I found out about New Wave singer Klaus Nomi, I knew I had to try and re-create his signature look. It’s definitely not subtle. 😉

Let’s start with the products I used:

~Manic Panic Goth White Powder Cream Foundation

~Black Eyeliner

~Lip Balm

~Hot Topic Black Lip Gloss

~Hair gel

~Lots of hair spray

Step 1: Face

Apply the Goth White foundation over your entire face. I just used my fingers because I’m trashy and unprofessional like that. The foundation itself is a cream, but it sets like a powder. It actually feels good on your face and covers well.

Step 2: Eyes

This is where the black eyeliner comes in. I really love black eyeliner. It just has so many uses. Klaus makes interesting use of eyeliner in his look. I applied the eyeliner to my bottom lashline and waterline. Klaus did not wear eyeliner on his top lashline, so I didn’t apply any there either. He also applied the eyeliner in a strange location: just above the eyelid in a half circle. I would say this was the hardest part of the tutorial for me. It was pretty hard to draw a perfect semicircle and it didn’t turn out great, but whatever. I can’t be bothered with perfection! 😛 I was not about to shave off my eyebrows like Klaus. Razors close to my eyes scare me and I like my eyebrows too much. haha

Step 3: Lips

My trick to the perfect black lip: eyeliner. I have tried black lipsticks and glosses, but they all end up being crap. And I hear that from other people as well. So eyeliner it is! Before I put on the eyeliner, I rub on a layer of lip balm. This will keep your lips from drying out due to the eyeliner. Next comes the eyeliner. I used a black lip gloss over top of the eyeliner since I like a glossy lip, but Klaus preferred the matte look.

Step 4: Hair

I knew that I wanted to include hair in this tutorial because it really completes the look. Klaus had a receding hairline and crazy hair that stuck straight up. Thankfully, I do NOT have a receding hairline (I will cry if it ever happens!). To get my hair to stick straight up I used some gel and a ton of hairspray. Normally I dislike using any hair products other than shampoo as my hair gets oily super fast. This was an exception, though. Which hairstyle do you like better?

Now it’s time for random photos!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I definitely enjoyed spending hours on this look. Klaus Nomi was a tremendous talent who left the world far too soon. His music, persona, and style will live on forever.

I also wanted to include this tutorial I came across. Everyone loves Nomi! 😀

11 thoughts on “Makeup Tutorial: Klaus Nomi

  1. 😀 This has been my favourite of all your blog posts so far. 🙂 Shall have try this out maybe sometime myself. 😉

  2. I’m slightly disappointed that I sent my comment to the wrong post 😦 But I’m bringing it here anyway!

    This is hey-lla fabulous! It came out so good.

Leave a Reply

