Masquerade

Masquerade

Behind the labels and technology,

Frightened eyes peer back at me.

I’ve now come to realize

I’m older than you’ll ever be.

1

A human emerged from the shrine

Too late, yet much too soon.

From infatuation to contempt,

Your presence no longer makes me swoon.

1

Feigned compassion

Integrity is not your virtue.

I bled to death

While a scratch never appeared on you.

1

Desperate to garner affection,

Primping gave way to a loss of identity.

Striving for your ideal

Destroyed my originality.

1

Glimmers of sweetness still appear,

Taunting me from their lofty height.

Distance would heal my wounds;

The daily axe I cannot fight.

1

Hiding within a nonstop masquerade,

You’re spinning out of control.

I tried to ride the twisted carousel,

But, the revolutions took their brutal toll.

1

Back in my personal asylum,

I slowly discover myself again.

Your spell over me has lifted

And another chapter now begins.

4 thoughts on “Masquerade

Leave a Reply

