Brooke Candy

It appears this is turning into a music blog. Sorry I’m not sorry.

As my last post featured the wholesome, sweet Jewel, I think it’s only necessary to get dirty. Filthy. Disgusting, some might say. It’s high time I discuss fearless rapper Brooke Candy. And yes, that’s her birth name. Her nicknames are really fascinating, too. Freaky Princess, The Hoodrat Drew Barrymore (my fave), Lady T-H-C…makes me want a cool nickname.

Hoodrat Drew Barrymore

Baby Brooke

Baby Brooke

I will admit I was scared of Brooke at first. She’s hyper sexual, blunt, and next level. But, with time Brooke has grown into  one of my favorite rappers, only second to her (and my) idol Lil’ Kim. The Queen Bee just can’t be topped.

Brooke has had a crazy life. Growing up, her father was the CFO of Hustler magazine, which exposed her to sex at a young age. Brooke is also a former stripper. She says she made good money and it prepared her for performing on stage. That experience clearly influenced her personal style and music videos. Raunchy is an understatement. Brooke interned for celebrity stylist Rachel Zoe, too. Bananas. It doesn’t sound like Brooke was too fond of her, though…

Brooke first gained recognition in indie artist Grimes’ music video for the song “Genesis”. In her long pink braids, shiny warrior armor, and sassy platforms, Brooke was hard to miss. I first heard of her from singer Kerli. She referred to Brooke as her evil twin and I would say that’s very accurate. They both include fantasy and cyber elements in their fashion. Brooke tends to wear less clothing, naturally.

Brooke Candy Grimes

Kerli and Brooke

Kerli and Brooke be friends

Honesty is really important to me in music. Straight up, I don’t like artists who don’t write their own shit. I just don’t have any respect for them. That’s why Brooke is a breath of fresh air. She doesn’t censor her raps in any way and refuses to sign to a major label that wants to change her. Her goal is to make it into the mainstream as an independent artist and I believe she can do it with the support of her fans, lovingly referred to as FagMob.

Brooke means no disrespect by using the terms “fag” or “slut” in her raps. She’s actually a lesbian as well as a feminist and wants to reclaim insults and flip them into compliments. That’s really admirable. Brooke’s bringing back female rap that empowers and supports women’s rights, just like Lil’ Kim and Khia. Even if her music is sexual, it’s not degrading to women. Brooke is telling women to be in control of their bodies and make their own rules. That’s clear in her song “Pussy Make The Rules”.

Love her or hate her, Brooke’s here to stay. We would totes be friends.

5 thoughts on “Brooke Candy

  1. Although rap isn’t my thing, I do respect an outspoken woman who doesn’t try to hide from her sexuality. The “in your face” explicit lyrics generally make me cringe, yet I have learned to enjoy artists like Genitorturers and Junksista. I just usually make sure no one else is around when I listen to them, lol. Good post.

Leave a Reply

