Shopping

I both love and loathe shopping. I love hunting for clothes that fit my style perfectly: a little creepy, a little cute. There’s great satisfaction in finding awesome items. However, I despise the rigid gender norms present in almost all clothing stores.

Now, there was a time when I solely wore men’s clothing. I never even entertained the idea of wearing women’s clothing. And why would I? Crossdressing is still taboo in most parts of the world. Parents certainly aren’t going to encourage their kids to explore the world of gender-bending. What would society think, after all? I followed the norm like everyone else.

At a point, I found myself wanting to experiment with feminine clothing. Some obstacles came with this decision, though:

1.) Weird looks from other shoppers

~ Being the only guy in the women’s clothing department can be awkward. I get many strange looks, which aren’t fun. I can’t say I blame the shoppers for their reactions. However, it’s fucking rude. Gawking at anyone for whatever reason is beyond rude. The stares, in turn, make me very uncomfortable and ruin a bit of the shopping experience. I’m not some pervert touching all the sexy lingerie to get off. I just want to buy some pretty heels because they make me happy. I don’t think most people make that connection. They are too stuck on the shock of it all. Some crossdress as a sexual fetish, but plenty of others just partake in it to express how they feel on the inside. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with expressing your femininity through fashion. People’s opinions need to change, not those who crossdress themselves.

2.) Things don’t fit

~ With a shoe size of 10 and a height of 5’10”, women’s clothing isn’t really geared for me. Finding cute shoes isn’t easy. I’m not Paris Hilton (sadly), so I can’t afford to pay someone to make me custom heels. I suppose I could go shop in a drag store, but I don’t consider myself a queen. I’ve actually had to return clothes that were too small for me because I bought them without even checking if they were in women’s or men’s sizes first. (Thanks Hot Topic :P) If I see something pretty, then I buy it. Luckily, jewelry always fits, so I can purchase all the sparkly things I want. I actually have very feminine hands with long fingers, so I love wearing rings. My mom hates my fingers, but hey, that’s genetics. 😉

3.) The men’s clothing section bores me

~ It always seems like the men’s clothing section is smaller than the women’s section. This means that the available options are limited. I enjoy being unique. I have no desire to look like everyone else. I’m not trying to prove anything. I just dress how I feel in things I like. Three types of pants and variations of the same shirt in muted colors don’t entice me. I do find men’s clothes I love, but not enough of them to fill my wardrobe with. Fashion is limitless, so why limit my style? The men’s section has cute stuff, but The Little Mermaid leggings over yonder are screaming my name. And I’m not going to deny myself. Ariel is a legit fashion inspiration for me. When I get bored shopping in the men’s department, I can just hop over to the women’s section. Totally the best of both worlds. Mixing feminine and masculine clothing is really fun to do.

My remedy to these obstacles has been online shopping. I can find extended sizes in clothing and shoes. I also don’t have to deal with haters and their disapproving attitudes. Win win. 🙂

I think I’ll end this post with some pictures of stuff I bought on my last shopping spree.

Skulls and Diamonds

I harassed a cute store employee until he found this shirt for me. I wasn’t leaving without it. It’s so scene.

Spikes, Studs, and Frankenstein

Belt and bracelet found in the ladies department. All my studded belts are broken from wearing them too much, so I needed a new one. And 99 cents for Frankenstein…hells yeah!

Swimsuit

New swimsuit. Not that I swim. Or would be caught dead topless. I don’t know why people keep assuming I bought a Speedo when I tell them I got a new swimsuit. haha Do I seriously come off that slutty?

Tie Dye Skulls

Tie dye and skulls. For those grunge days.

2 thoughts on “Shopping

  1. HA!! Thanks for the laugh, Jonathan. I enjoyed this entry immensely. Also, a dear subject to me….those damn strict gender norms. People need to get past masculine and feminine, and start appreciating individuality instead. Ok, off of the soap box.

    • Any time! 😀 Life is ridiculous and it’s important to laugh at the silly things that people fret about and judge one another over. Humor and a laid back attitude have always gotten me through rough times.

Leave a Reply

