Everlasting Winter

I’m beyond sick of winter. I wrote this poem during the snowstorm I sat watching yesterday. Enjoy!

Everlasting Winter

1

The colder I become,

My soul feels more and more numb.

Warmth I cannot recall,

Confronted by this icy wall.

1

Damaged is my skin,

From fingers long and thin.

The scars will stay on my body;

Weakness I embody.

1

Misfortune possesses those close to me;

Health decays rapidly.

Death creeps in when it is darkest,

Barraging the feeble the harshest.

1

Entrapment breeds hopelessness,

The frigid air filled with loneliness.

Motivation has no light to grow,

Melting like grimy snow.

1

An avalanche of boredom,

I cannot overcome.

I crave transcendence

Above complacence.

1

Refrigerated and stale,

Barren and oh-so pale.

A scorching revival

Can thaw my pensive spiral.

1

An everlasting Winter

Must eventually wither.

As heat awakens foliage

No longer under hostage.

Leave a Reply

