The Hidden Gems of the Music Industry

Underground or little-known music artists are usually my favorites. Often times, they possess a more original sound and a lot of creativity. Today, I wanted to share some artists that I think deserve more recognition.

Bad Pollyanna

This is a band I think my alternative followers would enjoy. At my first discovery of Bad Pollyanna, I’ll admit I wasn’t captivated. I don’t listen to nearly as much alternative rock music as I used to. I’m all about the synthpop, which I’ll save for another post. However, when I heard the band’s new charity single “Invincible Girl” and researched what the band was all about, I fell in love.

Bad Pollyanna’s website says they represent a mix of both beauty and darkness. The visuals in their music videos are both stunning and scary. Their debut album “Monstrous Child” reminds me of the story of Frankenstein. The concept involves a scientist that kidnaps a girl to try and bring his lover back to life, but his lover turns into a monster instead. The album is her story. It’s a badass idea. I love concept albums.

The song “Invincible Girl” was recently released as a charity single in support of The Sophie Lancaster Foundation. It’s probably my favorite charity because its focus is on creating respect for and understanding of subcultures in our communities. As a Goth myself, this message is absolutely vital in a society in which kids are dying for being different. You can learn more about the foundation here and buy “Invincible Girl” here. Bad Pollyanna are very talented and awesome people.

Ricky Rebel

Anyone remember 90’s boy band No Authority or Show Pony from the My Chemical Romance videos? Those were artist Ricky Rebel’s past endeavors. He even got to tour with Britney Spears! Now, Ricky’s a blue-haired solo pop artist with the hottest stage outfits I’ve ever seen. Ricky’s music ranges from dance to rock to pop. He certainly doesn’t mind showing off his individuality in his sassy music videos.

Tara McDonald

Tara is a singer/songwriter from the UK who’s debut album should come out this year. I came across her wild music video for “Give Me More” and fell in love. The video is like a sexy Alice in Wonderland tea party on crack. It reminds me of Kerli’s “Tea Party”. Tara also hosts her own dance music radio show. I wish her lots of success! She’s been hard at work in the music industry for a long time and deserves her big break.

Patrick Wolf

I liken singer/songwriter and violinist Patrick Wolf to the male version of Emilie Autumn. His music is described as Baroque Pop and includes lush orchestration, uncommon musical instruments and pop sensibility. He even has the red hair and eccentric fashion sense that Emilie has. Patrick has mastered making make both dark and light music. “The Magic Position” is a fun love song that even sounds like it could be in a musical. The band nerd in me loves that scales are being played throughout the song.

Lola Blanc

This is one spunky pop singer that I can’t believe hasn’t hit it big yet. Lola co-wrote Britney Spears’ “Ooh La La”, which was originally going to be Lola’s song. She grew up in Michigan and was a ventriloquist in a family full of magicians. Lola’s fashion style is edgy retro and the visuals in her music videos are on point. Even when she sings about a teacher and student high school romance on “Shut The Damn Door”, the song is so pretty that it’s not creepy.

Do you know of any underrated artists that I should know about? Leave them in the comments!

4 thoughts on “The Hidden Gems of the Music Industry

  1. Bad Pollyanna is great. ^.^ I only listen occasionally, but I do enjoy it a lot.

    A friend introduced me to a very cool band earlier this year called Jack Off Jill. Also, I recently got into listening to a band. I believe it’s called New Years Day. They’re both worth checking out. :p

Leave a Reply

