Unexpected

I’m trying to get back into writing. This is my first attempt in a long time: a Valentine’s Day poem for my boyfriend. I hope he likes it. đŸ˜‰

 

Unexpected

We attended the same high school

We barely spoke in class

I was as quiet as a ghoul

You gave all kinds of sass

 

You swiped right on Tinder

It took me by surprise

My heart was in cinders

Never having luck with other guys

 

We started to talk

You seemed really nice

I didn’t even balk

Just went ahead and rolled the dice

 

When finally we met

At that seedy country bar

I saw your skull sweater silhouette

And friendly face from afar

 

Conversation came easy

You made me laugh

We were both full of whimsy

The picture perfect photograph

 

Our first date lasted well into the night

Neither of us wanted it to end

Being with you felt so right

I could already tell you were more than a friend

 

Our relationship has grown

I met your sweet Ivy

The time sure has flown

At least you keep your Pyrex tidy

 

I hope we’ll be together forever

As permanent as a meaningful tattoo

I promise to be there for you through whatever

That’s why it’s time I say “I love you!”

 

Leave a comment